and now for something completely different......

What people are working on at the moment
cressy
Shed dweller

#1 and now for something completely different......

Post by cressy »

well not that different as a matter of fact, its just not an amp. same fare as usual from me, surprise surprise, im starting a new turntable.
ive been collecting bits on and off for the last 6 months to revisit the idler idea i had with the lp12 lenco idler from a few years back. this time im not using a lenco motor or anything else that was in a deck before apart from platter and bearing, i cant get away from that as i dont have the tools to make such a thing. i have a bearing and platter from some french broadcast deck, a dc motor from an industrial robot, another bearing for the idler out of an old trio deck and a variable dc power supply from a bike wheel balancing machine. having run the motor off this supply it will go from 0 to 3800 rpm, (measured with a strobe gun off a mate thats for setting the timing on cars) so have ample revs for whatever motor pulley i have made. this was run off a 24v laptop supply. i have a motorbike battery i can try too if needs be. the plinth sections are to be made from some huge 5" square by 20" oak blocks that were nicked off a building site 30 years ago by my grandad (see where i get it from!).
the plan is for the platter, bearing and arm to be mounted on a T shaped section and the motor and idler on a C shaped section that fits around the downward part of the T. i.e C-I (Join the hyphen to the i, shove the c further towards it. not a great description but i havent got the drawings as i did them at work in a bored moment) the T will be sat on foculpods and the c bolted directly into a large granite chopping board i came across on the flea market.
if anyone can help with making a motor pulley, and a disc with a hole in and a groove around the edge for an o ring to sit in for the idler, give me a shout, i'll be happy to send beer tickets your way.